top of page
Colorful Toys
diane 2.JPG

Diane Crombie

Licensed Child Care Provider 

Hi, my name is Ms. Diane and I have over 20 years experience working with children, especially those on the autism spectrum. From when I was a child I was always interested in teaching and looking after children.  I started babysitting my younger siblings around the age of 12 and had my first nanny job when I was 16. After my oldest son, Jacob, was born in 2005, I ran a private family dayhome in Calgary from 2006-2010 primarily caring for children ages 0-3. During that time we added two more children to our family with the birth of Adam in 2007 and Abby in 2009.  Our family moved to Lake Country in 2011 and we have loved being a part of this community ever since.  My educational background includes Certificates in Children’s Mental Health (MRU), Behavioural Strategies (MRU), Certified Education Assistant (OC) and dozens of conferences and training workshops.

Over the past 8 years I have had the privilege to work as a Certified Education Assistant, primarily supporting students with communication and behaviour challenges on the autism spectrum during their early elementary years.  During that time I also worked after school as a Behaviour Interventionist and Occupational Therapy Assistant, providing programming and support for children up to age 14. After the birth of my fourth child, Lily, in April of 2022, I decided to step out of the classroom and back into a home child care setting.  Lilypad Family Dayhome opened in September, 2023 and I have been loving getting to Learn, Play and Grow alongside a new crew of little ones!

 

My Philosophy:

I focus on a “learn through play” based program.  Our day is divided into opportunities to discover new things through songs, reading, dramatic play, art, active play and hands-on learning.  Free play is mixed with guided play and activities to meet the developmental needs of all of the children in my care.  

Our monthly themes help guide our journey and are incorporated in a variety of ways. During Outer Space month we build rocket ship forts, practice our blast off countdowns, and make solar systems while On the Farm month includes visits to a local farm to see baby sheep and planting our own garden. I can’t wait to see what new adventures we will have!

IMG_5505_edited.jpg

Miss Abby

Program Volunteer

Hi! I'm Abby and I'm 14 years old.  I am excited to have little kids to play with!  My passions include crafting and art and I love to think up fun and exciting activities. I also have my babysitting certificate and often volunteer at the Lake Country Art House as a program assistant.

DSC_0036.JPG

Mr. Ryan

Program Volunteer

Here we go again!  When my wife, Diane, previously ran a dayhome in Calgary when our teens were little I got to take two 3-month parental leaves after the birth of our second and third children to help my wife out so that she could continue to provide quality childcare just a couple weeks after giving birth.   I am currently home on long term disability and will be on hand as an extra helper for outings and activities.

IMG_9159.jpg

Ms. Michele ("G-ma")

Program Volunteer

I am Diane's mom but you can call me G-ma.  I love doing painting and crafts with kids and always have some creative ideas up my sleeve!  

bottom of page